Check out our new video about retail on the square!

Van Alstyne CEDC Break Ground on Cold Springs Industrial Park Phase II

The Van Alstyne CEDC held a groundbreaking ceremony to begin construction on Cold Springs Industrial Park Phase II near Village Parkway and S. Waco St. The project will provide infrastructure and roadway to the 40+ acres of the industrial park and is the first industrial project undertaken by the corporation in more than ten years. The $1.2 million project will allow for expansion of the industrial park and provide new opportunities to bring industrial and manufacturing to the city.  The VA CEDC also announced DeamLine Windows & Doors is the first to purchase 5 acres in this phase!

Mayor Jim Atchison was invited to attend the groundbreaking and spoke saying, “Commercial and Economic development is a critical part of the future of Van Alstyne and Grayson and Collin Counties. While we are in the midst of what sometimes feels like an overwhelming residential boom throughout North Texas we are also challenged to attract and retain industries in our community.  Industries of all types provide our community with a base of employment for our citizens, a valuable source of tax revenue and profit reinvestment back into our region. Also, industries tend to be very stable due to the high levels of investment required for starting the operations. Whereas commercial storefronts battle constant pressure from online enterprises, there is no substitute for the made in the USA label and we look forward to our future industries promoting many products that will be manufactured in Van Alstyne, Texas.  For these reasons, we are delighted to be here today to celebrate the groundbreaking of Phase II of the Cold Springs Industrial Park.  I’d like to conclude by expressing my thanks to our Van Alstyne Economic Development Board for their foresight and hard work in making this tract of land available for our future industry partners. Joining us here today is Board President David Sileven, Alesha Crowell, Vice-president, Mark Moss, Sherry Jeffcoat, Robert Jaska and Brad Clough. Others include: I especially appreciate the tireless work of the EDC staff, Mr. Rodney Williams and Ms. Tiffany Chartier in working through the details to acquire the land and their ongoing effort to recruit future businesses to our community.”