CITY OF VAN ALSTYNE

MINUTES City Council Special Called Meeting Van Alstyne City Hall 152 N Main Drive

June 23, 2020 6:30 P.M.

Members present: Mayor Jim Atchison (upon swearing in), Mayor Pro Tem Robert Jaska, Ryan Neal, Marla Butler, Lee Thomas (arriving at 6:36pm) and Katrina Arsenault.

Staff present: Lane Jones, David Ritter, Jennifer Gould and Amy Mathews.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order. Mayor Pro Tem Robert Jaska called the meeting to order. Ryan Neal recited a prayer. The US and Texas Pledges of Allegiance were recited as well.
- 2. Consider and take any action necessary regarding the resignation of Planning and Zoning Commission Chairman Jim Atchison. *No action taken as the resignation is automatically effective.*
- 3. Administer Oath of Office to Jim Atchison for office of Mayor. City Clerk Jennifer Gould administered the Oath of Office and Statement of Officer to Jim Atchison.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

4. Pursuant to Texas Local Government Code Section 551.071 and the Texas Open Meetings Act, the City Council will convene into executive session to consult with the City Attorney regarding agenda item No. 5. (Appointment of Van Alstyne CDC and EDC Directors). Any action resulting from the executive session will take place in the open meeting under agenda item No. 5.

City Council recessed into executive session at 6:36pm. City Council reconvened into open session at 6:53pm.

AGENDA (Resumed)

- 5. Consider and take any action necessary regarding appointment of seven (7) members to serve on the Board of Directors for the Van Alstyne Community Development Corporation and the Van Alstyne Economic Development Corporation. Mayor Atchison thanked those who served on the boards previously which were dissolved by prior City Council action. Ryan Neal made a motion to appoint David Sileven, Mark Moss, Alesha Crowell and Wayne Womack to two-year terms and Sherry Jeffcoat, Robert Jaska and Brad Clough to one-year terms to the Economic Development Board and the Community Development Board. Marla Butler seconded the motion and the motion passed with Ryan Neal, Marla Butler, Lee Thomas and Katrina Arsenault in favor and Robert Jaska abstaining.
- 6. Approval of ratification of an emergency purchase for pump repair at the sanitary sewer lift station located at 1950 Caruth Drive. The emergency work is required to continue providing service to Van Alstyne residents and protect the environment by avoiding discharge of untreated sanitary sewer on the ground. *Robert Jaska made a motion to approve the emergency purchase as presented. Lee Thomas seconded the motion and the motion passed unanimously.*

CONSENT AGENDA

Items listed on the consent agenda allow the Council to approve all items together without discussion or individual motions. Items may be removed from the consent agenda on the request of any one member of the Council. Removed items will be discussed and action taken immediately after the consent agenda.

- 7. Approval of a resolution requesting FM 121 East closure authorization from TXDOT for the October 10, 2020 Fall-Der-All event.
- 8. Approval of a final plat for Commercial Drywall Addition being 13.716-acres in the William Creager Survey, Abstract No. 201, Grayson County, Texas. The site is generally located west of Willy Vester Road and north of BH Cooke Lane.
- 9. Approval of a final plat for Albert Frank Gentry Addition being 3.957-acres in the Thomas J. Paxton Survey, Abstract No. 953, Grayson County, Texas. The site is generally located at the terminus of White Oak Drive in the Dobbins Estate Subdivision.
- 10. Approval of a final plat for Schuchman Addition being 6.69-acres out of the Nelson Hanney Survey, Abstract No. 431, Collin County, Texas. The site is generally located at the northeast corner of Bent Trail Road and County Road 373.
- 11. Approval of a final plat and a site plan for Airview AC Addition being 1.442-acres in the McKinney Survey, Abstract No. 770, Grayson County, Texas; generally located east of Main Street and north of Van Alstyne Parkway.

Marla Butler made a motion to approve items 7 through 11 listed on the consent agenda. Robert Jaska seconded the motion and the motion passed unanimously.

REGULAR AGENDA (NON-CONSENT)

12. Adjournment. *Robert Jaska made a motion to adjourn at 7:03pm. Katrina Arsenault seconded the motion and the motion passed unanimously.*

Jim Atchison, Mayor

Jennifer Gould, City Clerk